Hello world!

My name is Arlyn. I’m not a nutritionist, or a certified personal trainer-I train with one. I was scared healthy and realized life is too short to take it for granted. I’ve made it my life’s mission to stay healthy and see the world one city at a time.

On May 15, 2011; I was getting ready to board a plane home from Dallas-Lovefield airport to Seattle. I was in Dallas for my cousin’s college graduation extremely proud!  I felt my heart rate skyrocket as I waited in line, and felt weak in my knees but tried to board the plane anyways. Fortunately, the gate agent stopped me from boarding that fateful day.

By the time the paramedics saw me; my heart rate was at 280 BPM almost triple a normal resting heart rate. I was rushed to Parkland Hospital where the doctors performed an atrial ablation. I believe God answered my prayers. I’ve gone through numerous tests for a year prior to my procedure to try to figure out the reason behind my extreme heart beat, but I was left without a conclusion/answers. I’m extremely thankful to the doctor’s at Parkland for giving me the answers. I’m also thankful, God healed my heart and answered my prayers! The doctors’ told me I was completely healed, and that I could live life as normal.

However normal couldn’t come fast enough for me. Daily activities were just unbearable. I returned home and I wasn’t my normal self. It hits you like ton of bricks, you have to restart your life!  I became flat out, lazy. I used this procedure as an excuse to not do anything. I needed to wake up! Two months had passed, and I was sick of feeling sorry for myself. In July I started working with a trainer at 24 Hour Fitness. He turned my life around. I discovered strength and endurance I never knew I could have.

Fast forward 8 months later, I’m down 35lbs! It’s been an amazing journey, but I’ve learned an incredible amount along the way. I want to share with readers my love for fitness, health, food, and adventures that help me stay motivated. This is my journey! I hope you stay with me!

3 thoughts on “Hello world!

  1. Pingback: One Year Ago | Heartland515's Blog

  2. Pingback: The power in setting goals | Heartland515's Blog

Leave a Reply

