The power in setting goals

I believe there is sheer power in setting goals. I’ve learned over time that whenever I didn’t set new, attainable goals I lost my motivation. Without motivation I lost a sense of direction and detoured from the ultimate goal I set with my trainer 14 months ago.

When I first started my weight loss journey I wanted to lose 45lbs. My trainer told me to make a smaller goal, but just keep the bigger goal in mind. This helped me not to get overwhelmed since 45lbs seemed nearly impossible during the days I could barely do body weight lunges. I started by setting 5lb increment goals.

Today, I’ve met the ultimate goal of losing 45lbs, but I have now set a new goal to lose 7 more, bringing me to my ideal goal weight. This month has been intense with so many changes, but keeping this small goal in mind has kept me on track and has kept me motivated!

Below is my alarm, A daily reminder of my new goal!

Speaking of changes, I have great news to share! This month my husband and I bought our first house. We are so thrilled! However, I knew there would have to be some financial sacrifices, and to me it was not being able to train with my personal trainer. I only had three sessions left. I wanted to thank my trainer for all the time and knowledge he shared with me, so I sent 24 Hour Fitness a short thank you letter last Friday. I described a little of my history, and success I had while training with Spencer.

This past Monday I was offered by the district manager 10 free sessions to help me accomplish my goal of my last 7lbs that will bring me to my ultimate goal weight! I’m beyond ecstatic and can’t thank 24 Hour Fitness enough! I have more motivation than ever, and I can’t wait to see what I can do in the next couple months!

PS-Thank you to my readers that have stayed with me throughout my sporadic blog posts, I promise as soon as we are settled into our home I’ll be dedicating a lot more time to Heartland515!

Leave a Reply

